CHAPTER FOUR

04

Governance and Monitoring

CHAPTER FOUR

Our elected members	222
Committees and membership	223
Community board and ward forum	
representatives	224
Organisational overview	225

OUR ELECTED MEMBERS





WESTERN BAY OF PLENTY DISTRICT MAYOR

Garry Webber
Ph 027 270 3971
garry.webber@westernbay.govt.nz

KATIKATI /WAIHI BEACH WARD







- James Denyer
 Ph 021 858 007
 james.denyer@westernbay.govt.nz
- Anne Henry
 Ph 027 698 9275
 anne.henry@westernbay.govt.nz
- 3 Christina Humphreys
 Ph 021 465 667
 christina.humphreys@westernbay.govt.nz







Don Thwaites Ph 027 552 5103 don.thwaites@westernbay.govt.nz

- Margaret Murray-Benge
 Ph 027 221 0388
 margaret.murray-benge@westernbay.govt.nz
- Murray Grainger
 Ph 027 936 7994
 murray.grainger@westernbay.govt.nz
- Mark Dean
 Ph 021 949 339
 mark.dean@westernbay.govt.nz







8 John Scrimgeour Deputy Mayor Ph 027 653 3368 john.scrimgeour@westernbay.govt.nz

- 9 Kevin Marsh Ph 027 494 2215 kevin.marsh@westernbay.govt.nz
- Monique Lints
 Ph 027 356 9545
 monique.lints@westernbay.govt.nz
- The Grant Dally
 Ph 022 123 6850
 grant.dally@westernbay.govt.nz

KAIMAI WARD

TE PUKE / MAKETU WARD

COMMITTEES AND MEMBERSHIP

Audit and Risk Committee

Mayor Garry Webber (Chairperson)

Councillor James Denyer (Deputy)

Councillor Grant Dally

Councillor Mark Dean

Councillor Murray Grainger

Councillor Anne Henry

Councillor Christina Humphreys

Councillor Monique Lints

Councillor Kevin Marsh

Councillor Margaret Murray-Benge

Councillor Don Thwaites

Regulatory Hearings Committee

Councillor John Scrimgeour (Chairperson)

Mayor Garry Webber

Councillor Mark Dean (Deputy)

Councillor Margaret Murray-Benge

District Plan Committee

Councillor John Scrimgeour (Chairperson)

Councillor Mark Dean (Deputy)

Councillor Margaret Murray-Benge

Independent Chairperson to be appointed by Council when required

Annual Plan and Long Term Plan Committee

Councillor John Scrimgeour (Chairperson)

Councillor James Denyer (Deputy)

Mayor Garry Webber

Councillor Grant Dally

Councillor Mark Dean

Councillor Murray Grainger

Councillor Anne Henry

Councillor Christina Humphreys

Councillor Monique Lints

Councillor Kevin Marsh

Councillor Margaret Murray-Benge

Councillor Don Thwaites

Performance and Monitoring Committee

Councillor Don Thwaites (Chairperson)

Councillor Murray Grainger (Deputy)

Mayor Garry Webber

Councillor Grant Dally

Councillor Mark Dean

Councillor James Denyer

Councillor Anne Henry

Councillor Christina Humphreys

Councillor Monique Lints

Councillor Kevin Marsh

Councillor Margaret Murray-Benge

Councillor John Scrimgeour

Policy Committee

Mayor Garry Webber (Chairperson)

Councillor Monique Lints (Deputy)

Councillor Grant Dally

Councillor Mark Dean

Councillor James Denyer

Councillor Murray Grainger

Councillor Anne Henry

Councillor Christina Humphreys

Councillor Kevin Marsh

Councillor Margaret-Murray Benge

Councillor John Scrimgeour

Councillor Don Thwaites

Tauranga Moana / Te Arawa ki Takutai Partnership Forum

Elected Members

Hapū/iwi representatives

COMMUNITY BOARD AND WARD FORUM REPRESENTATIVES

Katikati Community Board

Member Ben Warren (Chairperson)

Member Neil Harray (Deputy Chair)

Member John Clements

Member Kate Sutherland

Councillor James Denyer

Te Puke Community Board

Member Kassie Ellis

Member Dale Snell

Councillor Grant Dally

Councillor Monique Lints

Councillor Christina Humphreys

Omokoroa Community Board

Member Teresa Sage (Chairperson)

Member Peter Presland (Deputy Chair)

Member John Evans

Member Derek Sage

Councillor Murray Grainger

Councillor Don Thwaites

Maketu Community Board

Member Shane Beech (Chairperson)

Member Laura Rae (Deputy Chair)

Member William Ra Anaru

Member Stephan Simpson

Councillor John Scrimgeour

Councillor Kevin Marsh

Waihi Beach Community Board

Member Ross Goudie (Chairperson)

Member Marilyn Roberts (Deputy Chair)

Member Bob Hulme

Member Don Ryan

Councillor James Denyer

Councillor Anne Henry

Katikati - Waihi Beach Ward Forum

Councillor James Denyer (Chairperson)

Member Richard Crawford (Chairperson)

Member Tupaea Rolleston (Deputy Chair)

Councillor Anne Henry (Deputy Chair)

Mayor Garry Webber

Councillor Christina Humphreys

Kaimai Ward Forum

Councillor Mark Dean (Chairperson)

Councillor Margaret Murray-Benge (Deputy

Mayor Garry Webber

Councillor Murray Grainger

Councillor Don Thwaites

Maketu - Te Puke Ward Forum

Councillor Kevin Marsh (Chairperson)

Councillor Monique Lints (Deputy Chair)

Mayor Garry Webber

Councillor Grant Dally

Councillor John Scrimgeour

ORGANISATIONAL OVERVIEW

CEO SERVICES

Executive Assistance

- Chief Executive
- Mayor

Strategy

- Strategic advice
- Local government reform

Community Engagement

- Social (including crime prevention)
- Local economic
- Environment
- Community funding
- Community planning
- Corporate events
- Community development

Communications

- Operational communications
- Corporate identity
- · Online communications
- Strategic and governance communications

PEOPLE AND CUSTOMER SERVICES

Customer Services

- Customer relations
- · Library and Service Centres
- Catering

Governance

· Support to organisation and elected members

Human Resources

- Human resources strategy
- Workforce development
- · Health and safety

FINANCE AND TECHNOLOGY SERVICES

Finance

- · Financial policy and overview
- Financial auditing
- Treasury
- · Rates and levies
- Income
- Expenditure
- Finance
- Annual Plan
- Annual Report
- Revenue and Finance Policy
- Long Term Plan (LTP)

Corporate

- · LTP project management
- Corporate development

Corporate Planning and Development

- Corporate planning
- Business planning improvement and project management
- Business excellence
- · Quality and risk management
- · Performance monitoring and reporting
- Internal (non-financial) audit
- Benchmarking
- Procurement

Information Technology and Services

- Geographic Information Systems
- Information systems
- Electronic Document Management System (EDMS)

INFRASTRUCTURE SERVICES

Transportation

- · Roading network
- Asset management
- West Roads contract

Utilities

- Utilities asset management
- Wastewater
- Stormwater
- Potable water
- Solid waste

Reserves and Facilities

- Parks
- Reserves
- Esplanades
- Wharves
- Jetties
- Property
- Cemeteries

Emergency Management

Response capability

Management Support

- Secretarial/support services
- · Legal administration
- Fleet management
- · Litter control

Strategic Property

- Corporate assets management
- Fleet management
- Administration support for Infrastructure Services

POLICY, PLANNING AND **REGULATORY SERVICES**

Resource Management

- District Plan
- Structure planning

Policy, Planning and Monitoring

- Strategic, infrastructure and reserves planning
- Comprehensive development planning
- Strategic and environmental monitoring
- Long Term Plan (LTP)
- Bylaw development

Development Engineering

· Engineering input into Council strategic documents

Regulatory

- Building
- Environmental health
- Animal services
- · Compliance enforcement, parking, monitoring
- · Land Information Memorandums
- Resource Consents
- Bylaws

Cultural

- Engagement
- Workforce