Joint Road Safety Committee

​​​This Committee administers the annual road safety programme and co-ordination of community groups concerned with road safety.

The Committee reports to operational Committees at Western Bay of Plenty District Council and Tauranga City Council.

The meeting schedule for all Joint Road Safety Committee meetings is listed below.

This Committee is administered by Western Bay of Plenty District Council.

Chairperson:Councillor Margaret Murray-Benge
Deputy Chairperson:Councillor Bill Grainger
Membership:​Western Bay of Plenty District Council - Councillor Margaret Murray-Benge and one transportation staff member
​Tauranga City Council - Councillor Bill Grainger and one transportation staff member
​Bay of Plenty Regional Council - Councillor Andrew von Dadelszen and one transportation staff member
​New Zealand Police representative
​Travel Safe Programme Leader
​New Zealand Transport Agency representative
​Accident Compensation Corporation representative
​Automobile Association representative
Committee Secretary:Louise Nind, Governance Advisor​


Joint Road Safety Committee meetings are typically held at the Council's Barkes Corner Office in Greerton, Tauranga. Meetings usually start at 10.00am.

Please note that on occasion dates and times of scheduled meetings are subject to change and will be notified on this site and in the public notice section of the Bay of Plenty Times.

Meeting dates for 2019 are:

  • 26 February
  • 21 May
  • 20 August

All agendas and minutes for this Committee can be found here.

Other (non-scheduled) meetings of Council committees, Council and Community Boards that may be required to address issues from time to time during the year will be publicly notified on this site and in the Bay of Plenty Times.

Page reviewed: 20 Mar 2019 12:21pm